Day 1 of the Rest of My Life

day-1

Hello there! If you’ve read my little About Me page, you’ll know that I’ve started this blog as a form of accountability for myself to get healthier. I currently claim that I’m only 90% vegetarian because I get super busy (and super lazy) during the week, so I tend to just grab whatever is easiest (ex. a can of tuna, Chick-fil-A, a McDonalds cheese burger…) when I’m in a hurry.

And I’m in a hurry a lot (hence the 10% survival skills).

So, inspired by my beautiful friend Heidi’s blog, Hue of Happiness, I decided putting together my own little blog may help me stay on track regardless if anyone is reading or not.

Starting Numbers

I guess the best way to see results is to record where I’m starting, so here goes nothing!

  • Weight: 139 lbs
  • Chest: 37.5 in
  • Arms: 10.5 in
  • Waist: 27 in
  • Hips: 38.5 in
  • Thighs: 22 in

For reference, I am just under 5′ 2″. According to the BayCare BMI calculator, I’m “too heavy” with a 25.4 score. I’m not necessarily aiming for weight loss, though, since I know muscle tends to be heavier than fat.

Then again, seeing 135 on the scale wouldn’t hurt my feelings, either.

Goals

I’m not usually one of those people who sets New Year’s Resolutions because I just don’t stick to them. It always feels too short-term and whishy-washy.

So my main goal is to go at this in the mindset of changing my lifestyle. I want to build my energy levels up, eat healthier, and be a stronger skater. I want to beat the players that are a foot and a half taller than me (with longer legs and longer reaches) to the puck.

Basically, I want to be Marty St. Louis.

So I’m shooting for a full lifestyle change (which is why I’ve titled this post “Day 1 of the Rest of My Life”). I’ve already surprised myself in my ability to stick to vegetarianism relatively well for the last year or so, but I’ve also been surviving off a lot of junk food that’s “technically” vegetarian because there’s no meat involved. I’m not requiring a weight change for myself. I’m just trying for a healthier, stronger me (who is a better hockey player).

Week 1 Workouts

I plan to work out 3 days per week, going from Sunday through Saturday. Here’s what this week’s workout plan looks like:

Sunday (chest/triceps/core)

Sets

Reps

Reverse Russian Twists

3

20-18-15

Russian Twists

3

25-20-18

Roll Out

2

10

Mountain Climbers

3

30s

Alternating pushups

3

10-8-6

Chest Press

3

12-10-8

Chest Fly

3

12-10-8

Tricep Dips

3

12-10-8

Bent Over Rows

3

12-10-8

Tricep Kickbacks

3

12-10-8

Tuesday (legs/booty/core)

Sets

Reps

Donkey Kicks

3

12-12-10

Fire Hydrants

3

12-12-10

Standing Kick Out (w/resistance)

3

10-8-6

Side Lunges

3

12-12-10

Split Leg Squats

3

10-8-6

Good Mornings

3

12-12-12

Laying Cross Overs

3

10-10-8

Reverse Russian Twists

3

20-18-15

Russian Twists

3

25-20-18

Roll Out

2

10

Mountain Climbers

3

30s

Thursday (back/biceps/core)

Sets

Reps

Reverse Russian Twists

3

20-18-15

Russian Twists

3

25-20-18

Roll Out

2

10

Mountain Climbers

3

30s

Pull Ups

3

12-10-8

Cable Rows

3

12-10-8

Back Extensions

3

15-12-10

Curls

3

12-10-8

Hammer Curls

3

12-10-8

Weighted Plank Swings

3

10-8-6

Shoulder Press

3

12-10-8

You’ll notice there’s a serious lack of cardio in my plan. That’s because I play hockey on Monday and Saturday nights, so I leave the cardio to the hauling ass that I do on the ice. I plan to focus my gym days on strength training to get a bit more explosiveness in my skating and shooting.

If I can drag myself out of bed early enough, I’m going to try to start my days with a little yoga before work as well. We’ll have to see how that one goes…

Meal Plan

I’m going to meal plan and prep each weekend. I’ll say it louder for everyone in the back: I’m going to meal plan and prep each weekend. I’m going to try really hard to stick to this. The weekends are either super busy or my self-proclaimed slack-off time; there’s no real in between. It’ll be a challenge, but I’m going to truck on as best I can.

I’ll track my nutrients/calories/etc. using CRON-O-Meter.com.

This week’s planned meals (rotated throughout the week) include:

  • Breakfast
    • Overnight oats with blueberries
    • Cheerios with almond milk
  • Lunch
    • Zucchini noodles with (store bought) pesto
    • Buffalo cauliflower salad with ranch dressing with Indian-spiced butternut squash
  • Snacks
    • Frozen berries/peaches in yogurt (the fruit will thaw out by the time I go to eat them)
    • Baby carrots and hummus
    • Rice cakes and PB2
  • Dinner
    • Southwest breakfast hash (adapted from this recipe without the sausage or jalapeño)
    • Stuffed peppers with black beans and rice (or quinoa)

The Sweet Stuff

Now, let’s be real, I have a ridiculous sweet tooth (ok, like 32 of them). I cannot fathom cutting out sweets and junk food entirely. I’ve tried that and the second I fall off that wagon, I go HAM. For weeks. It’s bad.

Side note: Hey 90’s kids! Did you know they make Zebra Cake ROLLS now? I think I had one for dinner for at least 2 weeks straight last month.

Zebra Cake Roll.jpg

(Photo)

ANYWAY, to combat that, I’m going to cut back on the junk food, but not cut it out completely. I’ll try to stick to dark chocolate for the most part, but it’s going to be very difficult. I live with my boyfriend’s family at the moment and they constantly have sweets in stock.

I’ll take a willpower upgrade, please!

Is That It?

That is it, my friends! That’s the plan, anyway. I’ll check back in next week to let you know how week 1 goes! In the meantime, if anyone does happen to read this, let me know:

What were your New Year’s Resolutions? What are you plans for success?

12 thoughts on “Day 1 of the Rest of My Life

  1. I love this!! I may steal your workouts in fact. I am trying to do the same and I think thr meal prep thing will be key! Can’t wait to read more!! BTW got a Planet Fitness black card so if you wver want to gym together let me know!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh yay! I only have the regular PF membership. We should do a workout/dinner date soon! And keep me updated on your progress! Let’s help each other stay on track!

      Like

  2. Love the detail in this post, will definitely make accountability and tracking a lot easier – wish I thought it through this thoroughly hahaa. Definitely cant wait to see your progress. best wishes! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! I’m an obsessive planner and I know that seeing progress will help me get motivated, so I’m hoping the little details will prove useful!

      Like

    1. Hi darling! I know, it’s been so long! Thanks so much for the love. I fell on the blogging band wagon for a while, but I’m so excited to be back. You’ve done such an amazing job with your blog!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

