Week 1 Recap

img_7301

Hi everyone! I realized I never took beginning photos! Sooooo… Not my most flattering photos, but necessary for the project.

IMG_7299.JPG IMG_7302.JPG

Yep, those are on the internet now… *sweats nervously*

Ok, that’s over and done with. On to the week recap! Let’s start with the meal plan for this week. I had a hard time sticking to it. Here’s how the week actually went.

Sunday

Day of loafing! Actually I went to the gym and grocery store, so I was a busy little bee.

  • Breakfast: Coffee with cream and sugar, English muffin with reduced fat peanut butter and honey on one half and raspberry jelly on the other
  • Lunch: Peanut butter and jelly sandwich on honey wheat bread and salt and vinegar chips
  • Snack: 3 small chocolate chip cookies
  • Dinner: Egg and cheese breakfast sandwich on Chicago-Italian bread
  • Dessert: Ben & Jerry’s Half Baked, about half a pint… heh…
  • Workout:

    Sunday (chest/tris/core)

    Sets

    Reps

    Weight

    Reverse Russian Twists

    3

    15-15-10

    Body

    Russian Twists

    3

    20-20-18

    10-10-10 lbs

    Chest Press

    3

    12-10-8

    10-10-10 lbs

    Chest Fly

    3

    12-10-8

    30-35-35 lbs

    Tricep Dips

    3

    12-10-8

    Body

    Tricep Kickbacks

    3

    12-10-8

    10-10-10 lbs

Monday

I had the day off from work (MLK Day holiday), but I played hockey that night, so I got a good cardio workout in.

  • Breakfast: Black coffee, Cheerios, and almond milk
  • Late lunch: Sweet potato fry nacho thing with corn, salsa, red bell peppers, onions, and black beans topped with BBQ sauce and cheese*
  • Post hockey: The boyfriend and I stopped by Chili’s where we shared chips and salsa. And cheesecake.

*This:IMG_7318.JPG

Tuesday

Nothing too special on Tuesday. I spent the day at work catching up on things and hit the gym afterwards.

  • Breakfast: Black coffee, Honey Nut Cheerios, and almond milk
  • Lunch: Buffalo cauliflower, mixed greens, and ranch dressing
  • Snack: More jellybeans than I should have eaten…
  • Dinner: Greek yogurt, frozen mixed berries (thawed), chia seeds, and an avocado
  • Workout:

    Tuesday (legs/booty/core)

    Sets

    Reps

    Weight

    Donkey Kicks

    2

    12-10

    Body

    Fire Hydrants

    1

    5

    Body

    Glute/Quad Machine

    3

    8-6-4

    20-35-30 lbs

    Side Lunges

    1

    10

    Body

    Split Leg Squats

    3

    10-8-6

    Body

    Good Mornings

    3

    12-12-10

    Body-20-20 lbs

    Reverse Russian Twists

    3

    14-10-9

    Body

    Russian Twists

    3

    15-17-20

    Body

    *This thing. I don’t actually know what it’s called.

    IMG_7316.JPG IMG_7317.JPG

Wednesday

Again, not all that exciting. I had a lunch meeting at a local Cuban place and was surprised (and intrigued) to see a veggie Cuban sandwich on the menu. Turns out it was a simple veggie sandwich with bell pepper, onion, pickles, tomato, mayo, and lettuce and pressed on Cuban bread. It was pretty tasty!

  • Breakfast: Black coffee
  • Lunch: Veggie cuban sandwich with seasoned fries
  • Dinner: Southwest breakfast hash, 2 eggs lightly fried in olive oil
  • Dessert: A Zebra Cake roll
  • Workout: Rest day

Thursday

I spent most of Thursday fighting off a migraine (which is, unfortunately, a part of my life) so I skipped the gym, ate like a 5 year old, and tried to go to bed early (actually ended up with me waking up every hour all night long and sleeping terribly).

  • Breakfast: Black coffee (every day), Honey Nut Cheerios, and almond milk
  • Lunch: Greek yogurt, frozen mixed berries (thawed), and chia seeds
  • Dinner: More Cheerios and almond milk with a banana, then a peanut butter (reduced fat) and jelly sandwich on honey wheat bread
  • Dessert: A little bit of Ben and Jerry’s Half Baked ice cream

Friday

Friday was a little date night for the boyfriend and I after work. We had some amazing Mexican food and finished off with some cappuccinos from a local coffee shop. It’s so nice to steal some alone time when we can.

  • Breakfast: Black coffee and a cinnamon-raisin bagel with cream cheese from Dunkin’ Donuts
  • Lunch: Buffalo cauliflower, mixed greens, and ranch dressing
  • Snack: Unsweetened applesauce and Nature Valley Protein Oatmeal, mixed berry flavored
  • Dinner: Cheese flautas, black beans, and rice shared with the boyfriend. Topped off with a cappuccino.

Saturday

Hockey day! My mom came to watch my game, which is always fun. We lost in a shootout, but we got our first point as a team!

  • Breakfast: Black coffee, two slices of honey wheat toast with reduced fat peanut butter and local honey
  • Lunch: Peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Yes, again. I also had some unsweetened applesauce with cinnamon added in.
  • Dinner: It’s a Saturday night tradition to go to Taco Bus after my hockey games. I always get the rice and bean quesadilla.

Who said lifestyle changes were easy, right?? Yikes. I strayed off the meal plan pretty well this week.

You can see in the below weekly nutrition report summary from CRON-O-Meter that I have some adjustments to make. I did not get enough protein on average this week and my iron is a bit low as well. You can see I’m also really bad at putting my water intake into the system, however I promise I drank WAY more than that! I try for at least 64-72 ounces per day.

Screen Shot 2017-01-22 at 9.01.25 AM.png

So How Do You Feel?

After week 1, I feel kind of the same. I fell into some of my normal pitfalls that I need to escape, but I also made it to the gym twice this week and my skating ability on Monday really surprised me. I’m going to focus and build on the positives. Also, taking more photos. Does anyone else feel like my (whopping amount of 2) posts seem like they could use the extra punch?

What are your favorite exercise activities?

Leave a Reply

