And I’m Back! + Meal and Work Out Plans

IMG_7489.JPG

Hi everyone! It’s been a while. I took a puck to the ankle last Monday and it hurt pretty good, so I fell off the wagon a bit while I avoided injuring myself further. I skipped the gym all week and didn’t do too well with the food either. I didn’t write any of it down, so I’m not sure I could recap the week well for you at all (although Mom and I did go to this fancy steakhouse to visit their desert room as a little belated birthday treat).

Anywhoo, I’m back at it now! The ankle is about 95% and I’m chugging along! I hit the grocery store this afternoon and plan to prep everything after dinner to get ready for the week. I’m also looking at continuing the same workouts I had just to make it a little easier on myself.

Meal Plan

Breakfasts

  • Smoothie bowls with granola
  • Cheerios and almond milk

Lunches/Dinners

  • This 5-ingredient black bean soup over brown rice
  • Veggie chili
  • Veggie fajitas
  • Vegan biscuits and gravy (I got the recipe out of this book. Don’t judge me, y’all. I work for local government; no way am I chancing illicit behaviors like that. Just wanted some super easy, yummy, and quick recipes.)

That’s it for the meal plan this week. Keeping it super simple and comfort style. It’s been chilly (for Florida), so I’ve been craving my veggie chili and I’m always a sucker for biscuits and gravy. Hopefully this vegan version will be worth it.

IMG_7476.JPG

Work Out Plan

I’m sticking to simple here too. Just repeating my last written out plan. I skipped the gym today for the ankle and as a bit of a recovery from my massage therapy appointment (not nearly as fun as you think it sounds). I walked around the mall instead for at least SOME movement.

Monday
3 v 3 Hockey
Tuesday

Circuit 1

Glute Bridges

3

12

Donkey Kicks

3

12

Good Mornings

3

12

Circuit 2

Mountain Climbers

3

30s AMRAP

Reverse Russian Twists

3

30s AMRAP

Russian Twists

3

30s AMRAP

Circuit 3

Single Leg Squats

3

12

Curtsy Lunges

3

12

Sumo Squats

3

12

Wednesday
Yoga Class/Rest
Thursday

Circuit 1

Pullups

3

12

Elbow Squeeze Shoulder Press

3

12

Upright Rows

3

12

Circuit 2

V Ups

3

30s AMRAP

Back Extensions

3

30s AMRAP

Mountain Climbers

3

30s AMRAP

Circuit 3

Wide Grip Curls

3

12

Overhand Grip Curls

3

12

Close Grip Curls

3

12

Friday
Rest Day
Saturday
5 v 5 Hockey

There you have it; this week’s plan! K.I.S.S. (Keep it simple, stupid). I’ll keep an eye on the ankle during hockey and my gym visits, but I think it’s on the up and up and should be fine in another day or two. I elevated it immediately after hockey on Monday and iced it down. I also rubbed on a little bit of coconut oil and lavender essential oil to help with the inflammation, which I think helped a lot. The area didn’t end up visibly bruising or swelling.

How do you treat your minor injuries?

4 thoughts on “And I’m Back! + Meal and Work Out Plans

  1. Go girl! Injuries suck but it’s all about how you handle them, right? Good that you’re giving the ankle the love it needs and know you’ll be back to full power in no time! Until then, I’m going to try your black bean soup– yes please!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

